Besant Centenary First Day Cover Released

January 10, 2019

In memory of centenary celebration of Besant Primary School, the Besant centenary Special Postal Cover was released in the Besant Institution recently.  During the occasion, Shri Sathish Honnakatte, Chief Engineer, NMPT was the Guest of Honour for the release programme.  Shri. Jagadish Pai, Senior Superintendent, Post Office, Mangalore Division, released the special postal cover. Mr. Sadashiva Shettigar, NMPT Trustee was the Chief Guest.

First Cover_Besant.jpg

After releasing the Besant Centenary Special Postal Cover, Mr. Jagadish Pai said that, the Besant institutions have placed in a high order with regard to quality education. The institution has contributed much to the women education and it is the institution which provides education to the deprived category also by providing quality education to the youth, the institution has contributed much for the development of the country.

The guest of honour Mr. Sathish Honnakatte by remembering the contributions of the founder Annie Besant appreciated the institutions for providing education with social concern.  Another chief guest, the trustee of NMPT and alumni of Besant Evening College Mr Sadashiva Shettigar shared his experiences and said that Besant Institution is creating the civilized youth to the society through which the institution is the backbone for the development of the country.

Sri. Kudpi Jagadish Shenoy, the president of Women’s National Education Society, presided over the function. Sri. Manel Annappa Nayak and Sri. K. Devanand Pai were on the dais.

During the occasion, the endowment fund donors, retired heads of the institutions and sports performers at the National Level who brought laurels were felicitated.

The condolence programme was conducted to the management member late Suresh Mallya.

First Cover_2019.JPG

The programme began with an invocation by the students and shanti manthra by the primary school students who are originally Meghalaya based. The Chairman of Centenary Celebration Committee Sri. K. Devanand Pai welcomed the gathering, Management member Mr. Sathish Kumar Bhat proposed the vote of thanks. Educationist Mrs. Lalitha G. Mallya introduced the guests to the gathering and Dr. Meenakshi Ramachandra and student Ms. Vaishnvai compered the programme. At the end the cultural programmes were performed by the students.